First Assurance Kenya Limited
First Assurance Kenya Limited is a Kenyan insurance company offering general, medical and group life insurance.
Last updated August 25, 2026
Overview
First Assurance Kenya Limited, also known as First Assurance Company Limited and commonly abbreviated as FAKL, is an insurance company based in Kenya. The business traces its origins to 1930, when it was established as the Prudential Assurance Company. It subsequently adopted the First Assurance name and developed into a provider of several classes of insurance for individuals, employers and other organizations. The company operates in the Kenyan insurance market across general insurance, medical insurance and group life insurance. Its product scope places it within the broader financial-services sector, but its principal business is risk protection rather than banking, asset management or securities trading. The available reference material identifies more than 50,000 policyholders in 2015 and describes the company as serving customers through a branch network in Kenya, with locations in Nairobi, Kisumu, Mombasa and Nakuru. The same material also refers to branches in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, indicating a regional operating footprint, although the extent and current status of that Tanzanian presence require verification. A major ownership change occurred in 2015, when Barclays Africa Group of South Africa acquired a 63.3 percent shareholding in First Assurance Kenya Limited. The transaction was reported at an estimated value of KSh2.9 billion. The consideration paid to existing shareholders was reported as KSh2.2 billion, while approximately KSh700 million was injected as new capital into the business. This transaction brought the insurer into the Barclays Africa group structure. Following the later rebranding of Barclays Africa Group as Absa Group, First Assurance Kenya is identified as an Absa Group member. The company was privately held rather than publicly listed according to the available reference material. Its scale in the mid-2010s was reflected in reported total assets of KSh7.11 billion at December 2014 and shareholders' equity of KSh2.162 billion at the same date. These figures are historical and should not be treated as current financial information. In June 2014, Global Credit Rating Company of South Africa assigned the insurer an A- rating with a stable outlook, providing an external assessment of its credit profile at that time. First Assurance Kenya's market positioning is that of an established, locally operating insurer supported by a regional financial-services group. Its long operating history, multi-line insurance portfolio and presence in several Kenyan cities distinguish it from a narrowly focused specialist insurer. However, publicly available material supplied for this entry does not establish the company's current product architecture, leadership team, market share, financial performance or precise corporate structure after the Absa rebranding. Those details should be confirmed against current company, regulatory or Absa disclosures.
History
First Assurance Kenya Limited originated in 1930 as the Prudential Assurance Company. The business later changed its name to First Assurance, becoming a Kenyan insurance company operating across multiple lines of risk protection. The supplied reference does not specify the exact dates or circumstances of the rebranding, nor does it identify the original founders. By the 2010s, First Assurance had developed a portfolio covering general insurance, medical insurance and group life insurance. These categories enabled it to serve both individual policyholders and institutional or employer-sponsored customers. The company was described as a significant financial-services provider in East Africa, although the available material does not provide a comparative market-share ranking. In 2015 it reportedly served more than 50,000 policyholders and employed 132 people. The insurer's distribution network included five Kenyan branches: two in Nairobi and one each in Kisumu, Mombasa and Nakuru. The reference material also mentions branches in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. Because the material does not describe the timing, scale or present status of the Tanzanian operations, the regional footprint should be understood as historical rather than assumed to be current. In June 2014, Global Credit Rating Company of South Africa gave First Assurance an A- rating with a stable outlook. The rating was an external assessment available at that time and does not establish the company's current credit standing. Historical financial information reported for December 2014 placed total assets at KSh7.11 billion and shareholders' equity at KSh2.162 billion. These figures describe the company at that reporting date and should not be generalized to later periods. The most important ownership event in the company's documented history took place in 2015. Barclays Africa Group of South Africa acquired 63.3 percent of First Assurance Kenya's shares for an estimated KSh2.9 billion. Existing shareholders reportedly received KSh2.2 billion, while Barclays Africa contributed approximately KSh700 million as new capital. The transaction made the insurer part of the Barclays Africa group. After Barclays Africa later adopted the Absa identity, First Assurance Kenya became associated with Absa Group. The supplied reference describes First Assurance Kenya as privately held rather than stock-exchange listed. It does not provide a current chief executive, board roster, headquarters address, website or detailed post-acquisition strategy. It also does not document specific advertising campaigns, litigation, recalls, regulatory sanctions or scandals. The brand's historical profile is therefore defined primarily by its long insurance heritage, multi-line Kenyan operations, regional connections and transition into the Absa Group structure.
- 2015Barclays Africa acquired a majority shareholding
Barclays Africa Group acquired 63.3 percent of First Assurance Kenya and provided additional capital to the business.
- 2014Received an A- rating
Global Credit Rating Company of South Africa assigned the company an A- rating with a stable outlook in June 2014.
- 1930Established as Prudential Assurance Company
The business that later became First Assurance Kenya Limited was founded as the Prudential Assurance Company.
Products and positioning
An established Kenyan multi-line insurer serving personal, business and organizational policyholders, with ownership within the Absa Group.
General insuranceGeneral insurance
First Assurance Kenya's general insurance business covers non-life risks for customers and organizations. The supplied sources identify general insurance as one of the company's principal lines, but do not provide a current schedule of specific policy types, exclusions, claims features or distribution channels.
Medical insuranceHealth insurance
Medical insurance is one of the insurance categories associated with First Assurance Kenya. It forms part of the company's broader multi-line offering for policyholders, although the available reference does not specify current benefits, provider networks, plan tiers or product names.
Group life insuranceLife insurance
The company has been described as providing group life insurance, generally an employer or organization-sponsored form of cover. The supplied material confirms the category but does not provide detailed policy terms, eligibility rules, pricing or current product branding.
Flagship businesses
- General insurance policies
- Medical insurance policies
- Group life insurance schemes
Brand decisions
- 2015Majority acquisition by Barclays Africa GroupM&A
First Assurance Kenya was a privately held insurer operating in Kenya and offering general, medical and group life insurance. Barclays Africa Group pursued a controlling stake in the company.
What changed. Barclays Africa Group acquired 63.3 percent of the company's shareholding. Existing shareholders reportedly received KSh2.2 billion, and Barclays Africa injected approximately KSh700 million in new capital.
Aftermath. The transaction placed First Assurance Kenya within the Barclays Africa group structure. The group subsequently became associated with the Absa name, under which First Assurance Kenya is identified as a group member.
Reported transaction value, shareholder consideration and new capital. Estimated transaction value KSh2.9 billion; KSh2.2 billion paid to original shareholders; KSh700 million injected as new capital (2015)
Recent events
- 2015Barclays Africa Group acquired a majority stake in First Assurance Kenya
Barclays Africa Group of South Africa acquired a 63.3 percent shareholding in First Assurance Kenya Limited. The reported transaction included consideration to existing shareholders and a new-capital injection into the insurer.
M&A - 2014First Assurance Kenya received an A- rating with stable outlook
Global Credit Rating Company of South Africa assigned First Assurance Kenya an A- rating with a stable outlook in June 2014.
Other
Sources
Cite this profile: Cite the canonical profile. /brand-wiki/first-assurance-kenya-limited · Editorial policy · How profiles are compiled