Skip to content

Cake Box

Retailer / private label

UnclaimedRequest correction

Cake Box is a British bakery chain specialising in egg-free cakes and desserts sold through franchised shops.

Last updated August 25, 2026

AI crawler reads

No AI crawler has read this profile since Oct 28, 2026.

Overview

Cake Box is a United Kingdom bakery retail chain built around egg-free cakes, desserts, and celebration products. Its distinguishing proposition is that the cakes sold under the brand are made without eggs, allowing the chain to serve customers who avoid eggs for dietary, religious, cultural, or personal reasons. The business operates through a franchise-led store network rather than a conventional company-owned branch model. The first Cake Box shop opened in East London in 2008. From that initial location, the brand developed a national retail presence focused on local bakery shops where products are prepared in each branch. The made-in-store model gives individual outlets a visible production role and supports the chain's positioning around fresh cakes and custom celebration orders. It also differentiates Cake Box from packaged bakery retailers and from standard cake shops whose ranges commonly rely on eggs. Cake Box expanded sufficiently to become a public company, entering the London Stock Exchange's Alternative Investment Market in June 2018. At the time of its admission to AIM, the chain had 91 stores. Subsequent growth came primarily through franchising, with the network reaching 214 stores by September 2023 and being described as having more than 230 United Kingdom locations in later reference material. All stores are franchises, making franchise recruitment, local operating standards, and consistency of product quality central to the brand's business model. The range is centred on egg-free cakes and related desserts, including products intended for birthdays, anniversaries, weddings, and other celebrations. The available reference material does not identify a complete catalogue of named product lines, specific recipes, or individual flagship products, so the brand is best characterised by its egg-free bakery format rather than by a single signature item. Stores make cakes locally, which also supports made-to-order and occasion-based purchasing. In 2025, Cake Box acquired Ambala Foods in a transaction reported at £22 million. The acquisition broadened the group's relationship with the South Asian sweets and bakery market and represented a strategic expansion beyond the original Cake Box shop format. The available material does not provide further detail on the post-acquisition operating structure, financial contribution, or the treatment of the Ambala brand. Cake Box's positioning combines accessibility, celebration-led bakery retail, and an egg-free product promise. Its principal market is the United Kingdom, and its network scale gives it a national footprint while retaining the neighbourhood character of franchised shops. The brand remains active, with its identity closely associated with egg-free cakes prepared and sold through local branches.

History

Cake Box began in 2008 when its first shop opened in East London. The business was established around a clear product distinction: cakes made without eggs. This proposition enabled the chain to address demand from customers who avoid eggs for dietary, religious, cultural, or personal reasons, while also giving the retailer a recognisable identity in the competitive United Kingdom cake-shop market. The operating model developed as a franchise network. Rather than relying on a large estate of company-owned branches, Cake Box expanded through independently operated franchised stores. Cakes are made in each branch, linking the customer-facing shop with local preparation and allowing outlets to handle fresh and celebration-oriented orders. This model supported geographic expansion while making franchisee execution and adherence to brand standards important elements of the chain's development. By June 2018, Cake Box had grown to 91 stores and joined the London Stock Exchange's Alternative Investment Market. The admission marked a transition from a smaller specialist bakery concept to a publicly traded retail group with an expanding national network. The available reference material does not specify the company's admission valuation, ticker, or detailed financial performance, so those matters are not stated here. Expansion continued after the AIM listing. By September 2023, the business had 214 stores, and later descriptions characterised the chain as having more than 230 United Kingdom locations. The growth reinforced Cake Box's position as a national franchised bakery chain while preserving the local-shop format on which its model was based. Every store remained a franchise, and products continued to be made at branch level. Cake Box's product identity has remained centred on egg-free cakes and desserts, particularly items purchased for celebrations. The brand's stores serve occasions such as birthdays and other events, with the made-in-store format supporting fresh and customised products. The available sources do not provide a full historical product chronology or enough detail to identify specific named ranges as distinct milestones. In 2025, Cake Box acquired Ambala Foods for £22 million. Ambala is associated with South Asian sweets and bakery products, so the deal broadened Cake Box's group activities beyond its established egg-free cake-shop proposition. The available material does not explain whether Ambala retained its existing brand identity, how operations were integrated, or what financial or store-network effects followed. Cake Box remains an active United Kingdom bakery brand. Its historical development can therefore be summarised as the evolution of a specialist East London egg-free cake shop into a publicly listed, nationwide franchise network, followed by a strategic acquisition intended to extend the group's bakery and sweets footprint.

  • 2025

    Ambala Foods acquisition

    [1]

    Cake Box acquired Ambala Foods in a transaction reported at £22 million.

  • 2023

    Network reaches 214 stores

    [1]

    The company was reported to have 214 stores in the United Kingdom by September 2023.

  • 2018

    Admission to AIM

    [1]

    Cake Box joined the London Stock Exchange's Alternative Investment Market in June 2018, when the chain had 91 stores.

  • 2008

    First Cake Box shop opens

    [1]

    The first Cake Box store opened in East London, establishing the brand's egg-free bakery-shop format.

Products and positioning

A franchised British bakery chain focused on fresh, locally made egg-free cakes and celebration desserts.

  • Cakes and celebration bakery · 2008

    Egg-free cakes

    Cake Box's core offering is a range of cakes made without eggs. These products form the central basis of the brand's differentiation and are sold through franchised shops across the United Kingdom. They are intended for customers seeking egg-free bakery products and for celebration occasions such as birthdays and other events. Cakes are prepared in individual branches rather than supplied solely as centrally packaged products.

  • Custom bakery · 2008

    Made-in-store celebration cakes

    Cake Box stores make cakes locally, supporting the sale of fresh celebration products and orders tailored to individual occasions. The available source material does not specify the full range of designs, sizes, flavours, or ordering options, but the branch-based production model is a defining feature of the brand's retail proposition.

Brand decisions

  • 2025

    Acquisition of Ambala FoodsM&A

    Background

    Cake Box sought to broaden its bakery and sweets activities beyond its established egg-free cake-shop network.

    Action taken

    Cake Box acquired Ambala Foods for a reported £22 million.

    Aftermath

    The transaction expanded the group's brand and product exposure, but the available sources do not describe the integration process or subsequent financial performance.

    Acquisition consideration. £22 million (2025)

  • 2018

    Public-market admissionStrategy

    Background

    After growing its franchised store network to 91 locations, Cake Box pursued admission to the London Stock Exchange's Alternative Investment Market.

    Action taken

    The company listed on AIM in June 2018.

    Aftermath

    The listing provided a public-market structure during the brand's subsequent expansion, although the available material does not provide detailed financial outcomes.

Sources2 sources

Cite this profile: Cite the canonical profile. /brand-wiki/cake-box · Editorial policy · How profiles are compiled