Amin Investment Bank
An Iranian investment and commercial banking institution focused particularly on petrochemicals, mining, corporate finance, and capital-markets services.
Last updated August 25, 2026
Overview
Amin Investment Bank, also known as AminIB and formally associated with the Persian name Shirkat-e Tamin-e Sirmaih-e Amin, is an Iranian financial institution providing commercial and investment banking services. It was established in 2007 during a period of government-led economic reform intended to reshape Iran's banking system and expand the role of specialized financial institutions. The available reference material identifies Amin Investment Bank as a major Iranian banking establishment, although it does not provide a detailed account of its legal incorporation, ownership history, branch network, or subsequent corporate restructuring. The bank's business profile is closely connected to Iran's industrial economy. It specializes in financing and advisory work related to petrochemicals and mining, two sectors that have historically been important to Iran's export base, industrial policy, and state-linked investment activity. The institution has represented the interests of the Abadan Refinery and the Iranian Mines and Mining Industries Development and Renovation Organization, commonly known as IMIDRO. These relationships place Amin Investment Bank within the ecosystem of Iranian state-connected industrial finance, where banks and investment firms support large enterprises, infrastructure, resource development, and corporate transactions. Amin's stated activities include short-term and fixed-deposit accounts for domestic and overseas clients. It also provides mergers and acquisitions advice, risk-management services, financing, and corporate loans. Taken together, these offerings indicate a business model spanning deposit-taking or deposit-related products, corporate lending, transaction advisory, and broader financial intermediation rather than a narrowly defined securities-advisory practice. The available material does not specify the bank's current product volumes, assets under management, branch count, revenue, profitability, or geographic distribution. The bank reported initial equity capital of $100 million in 2007. This figure is a historical capitalization detail rather than a current valuation or balance-sheet measure. No later financial figures are established by the supplied references. Amin Investment Bank's governance information identifies Salman Khandemalmele as chief executive officer and lists Mahmoud Bahmani, Masoud Gharaati, Reza Raei, Mehdi Ghadami, Ali Asgari, Saeed Khoda Moradi, and Mohammad Reza Rostami among the board members. The source does not provide appointment dates or distinguish definitively between current and former directors beyond describing the listed individuals as current board members. A significant external development occurred in 2020, when the administration of United States President Donald Trump designated Amin Bank among 18 Iranian banks placed on a U.S. blacklist. The supplied reference does not provide the precise legal instrument, designation basis, or subsequent status, so the event is best understood as a sanctions and regulatory development rather than as evidence of misconduct by the institution. The designation would have affected the bank's ability to participate in transactions involving the U.S. financial system and counterparties subject to U.S. sanctions, although the available material does not quantify its operational or financial consequences. Overall, Amin Investment Bank is best characterized as an Iranian corporate banking and investment-banking institution with a strong industrial-sector orientation. Its documented identity is tied to Iran's post-2007 banking reform environment, resource and petrochemical finance, corporate lending, deposits, risk management, and M&A advisory. Publicly available information in the supplied references is limited, and details about its present ownership, leadership tenure, website, financial performance, and operating footprint require further verification.
History
Amin Investment Bank was established in Iran in 2007 as part of government efforts to reform the country's banking system. The reference material presents its creation against a broader policy backdrop in which Iran sought to develop and reorganize financial institutions serving commercial, industrial, and investment needs. It does not identify a founding individual, give a detailed incorporation history, or describe the precise legal structure adopted at launch. At inception, the bank had reported equity capital of $100 million. This initial-capital figure describes the institution's capitalization in 2007 and should not be treated as a current estimate of assets, market value, or shareholder equity. No later financial metrics are supplied in the available material. From the beginning, Amin Investment Bank developed a sector orientation toward Iran's petrochemical and mining industries. These sectors require substantial long-term financing, corporate restructuring, project support, and transaction advice, making them natural areas for an institution combining commercial and investment-banking functions. Amin represented the interests of the Abadan Refinery and IMIDRO, the Iranian Mines and Mining Industries Development and Renovation Organization. Those relationships connect the bank to major industrial and state-linked economic institutions, although the available source does not describe the precise mandates, transactions, or duration of the relationships. The bank's documented operating activities include short-term and fixed-term deposit accounts for domestic and overseas clients. On the corporate and investment-banking side, it offers mergers and acquisitions services, risk-management support, financing, and corporate loans. This combination suggests an institution serving companies and industrial projects as well as depositors, but the supplied material does not provide information about loan volumes, securities underwriting, asset management, branch locations, or international subsidiaries. The available governance description names Salman Khandemalmele as chief executive officer. It also lists Mahmoud Bahmani, Masoud Gharaati, Reza Raei, Mehdi Ghadami, Ali Asgari, Saeed Khoda Moradi, and Mohammad Reza Rostami as members of the board of directors. Appointment dates, previous officeholders, and changes in governance are not documented in the supplied sources. In 2020, Amin Bank was included in a U.S. action that blacklisted 18 Iranian banks during the Trump administration. The reference characterizes the event as a blacklist designation but does not provide the legal text, stated grounds, or the institution's response. It therefore represents a major regulatory milestone in Amin's publicly documented history, while the consequences for its business, counterparties, and international operations remain unspecified. The available record portrays Amin Investment Bank as an Iranian industrial-finance institution whose identity rests on the combination of commercial banking, corporate lending, investment-banking advice, and sector expertise in petrochemicals and mining. Public documentation supplied for this entry does not establish its current ownership, financial condition, website, listed status, or detailed post-2020 development.
- 2020U.S. blacklist designation
Amin Bank was included among 18 Iranian banks blacklisted by the Trump administration.
- 2007Establishment during Iranian banking reform
Amin Investment Bank was established in Iran as part of government efforts to reform the banking system and develop specialized financial institutions.
- 2007Initial equity capitalization
The bank's initial equity capital was reported as $100 million at the time of establishment.
Products and positioning
An Iranian industrially oriented investment and commercial bank serving corporate, petrochemical, mining, and state-linked enterprise clients.
Short-term deposit accountsDeposits
Short-term deposit products for domestic and overseas clients, forming part of the bank's commercial-banking offering. The supplied source does not specify currencies, rates, eligibility requirements, or account terms.
Fixed-term deposit accountsDeposits
Fixed-term deposit accounts for domestic and overseas clients. Available references identify the product category but do not provide details about maturities, yields, or current availability.
Corporate loansCorporate banking
Loan financing for corporate clients, with particular relevance to the industrial sectors associated with the bank, including petrochemicals and mining. No portfolio size, borrower list, or individual facility details are provided.
Mergers and acquisitions advisoryInvestment banking
Advisory services relating to mergers and acquisitions, supporting corporate transactions and restructuring. The reference confirms the service but does not identify specific completed transactions.
Risk-management servicesAdvisory
Risk-management support for clients and transactions. The available material does not explain whether the offering covers market, credit, operational, project, or other categories of risk.
Industrial and project financingCorporate finance
Financing connected with corporate and industrial activity, especially in petrochemicals and mining. The source describes financing as a core activity but does not provide project names, structures, or financing volumes.
Flagship businesses
- Petrochemical-sector financing and advisory
- Mining-sector financing and advisory
- Corporate lending
- Mergers and acquisitions services
Brand decisions
- 2020Response to U.S. blacklist designationOther
The Trump administration included Amin Bank among 18 Iranian banks placed on a U.S. blacklist.
What changed. No response or countermeasure by Amin Investment Bank is identified in the supplied reference.
Aftermath. The available material does not quantify the effect on the bank's operations, international counterparties, or financial performance.
Leadership
| Name | Title | Tenure |
|---|---|---|
| Ali Asgari | Board member | — |
| Mahmoud Bahmani | Board member | — |
| Masoud Gharaati | Board member | — |
| Mehdi Ghadami | Board member | — |
| Mohammad Reza Rostami | Board member | — |
| Reza Raei | Board member | — |
| Saeed Khoda Moradi | Board member | — |
| Salman Khandemalmele | Chief Executive Officer | — |
Recent events
- 2020Amin Bank included in U.S. designation of 18 Iranian banks
The Trump administration placed Amin Bank among 18 Iranian banks subject to a U.S. blacklist. The supplied reference does not state the precise legal authority or describe the bank's subsequent response.
Regulation
Sources
Cite this profile: Cite the canonical profile. /brand-wiki/amin-investment-bank · Editorial policy · How profiles are compiled